Will a Domestic Violence Charge Affect My California Professional License?

Will a Domestic Violence Charge Affect My California Professional License?

In the state of California, there are many crimes that can threaten your professional license, one of which is domestic violence. Domestic violence cases are more common than you think and can seriously damage your reputation and affect your career.

Consequences of Domestic Violence Convictions

California classifies domestic abuse as crimes that involve harm or threat of harm to an intimate partner. Whether it was an accident, self-defense, or a false accusation, these charges can result in serious consequences which may include the following:

  • 6  – 12 months in jail
  • 52-week Intervention Classes
  • Fines up to $1,000 plus penalty assessments
  • Conviction of criminal charge(s)
  • 3 years of court-ordered Probation
  • Discipline of your professional license

If you are a licensed professional, having a domestic violence stain on your record can threaten your livelihood. Many California licensing boards have suspended or revoked licenses for criminal charges such as this. Getting assistance from an experienced professional can help lessen disciplinary actions and secure your future. 

Related Article: Why You Need a Criminal Defense and Professional License Defense Attorney

Guidance From a Professional License Defense Attorney

Although you will need a criminal defense lawyer to represent you in court for your domestic violence charges, it’s also a good idea to work with a professional license attorney like those at Unlock Legal. Your license defense attorney can fight for your professional license by finding a resolution for your misconduct or representing you during an administrative hearing. During the hearing, you will appear before your professional licensing board or an administrative law judge. At this point, your attorney will have the opportunity to provide facts, evidence, and arguments on your behalf. Then, the licensing board can take up to 100 days to make a decision before you know if your license will be placed on probation with terms and conditions, or suspended altogether. Our professional license defense attorneys can help you get the best outcome possible and get back to your career.

Contact Unlock Legal

Dealing with a domestic violence charge can be difficult for a professional in any industry. Our team has experience working with both criminal attorneys and licensing boards to find a positive solution for you. 

If you fear your professional license is in jeopardy, please don’t hesitate to reach out for a quick, discreet, and confidential consultation. Know that with us, you are in great hands. Contact Unlock Legal today or give us a call at your convenience at 949-988-4444 to speak with a professional about your case and your unique needs. You’ll find we are compassionate, easy to talk to, and willing to help in any capacity we can.

Request a free consultation

"*" indicates required fields

Last Name*
Are you currently under investigation by your licensing board?*
Are any disciplinary proceedings pending from your licensing board?*
Does your case involve any arrest or criminal conviction?*
This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.
Search through our posts...